Fake Food Fire & Wine Night

I’m not proud of this.

Last night instead of a new culinary creation, I  microwaved frozen cauliflower in cheese sauce and wedges of processed skinny cow cheese and called it a sauce over whole wheat pasta.

For shame.

Even Mr. Quirky who will “try anything once” opted for a frozen pizza.

And after I had all but licked my bowl clean, I wondered, how did I get here?

Have you heard of the site Hungry Girl? I have mixed feelings about it. First off, I applaud Lisa for finding lighter alternatives to fat and calorie laden foods and exposing scary nutritional values of popular chain restaurants. I think when eating, we should all be aware of what we are actually consuming. That’s just obvious.

But so many of her recipes rely on fat-free filler ingredients and Splenda. (Ick!) I just don’t find that appetizing in my cooking. Give me olive oil and cream and I’ll use it in moderation(ish.)(Ok, so hence why I’m trying to shed a few pounds).

But there is something intriguing about her site, especially if you love to eat.  I mean, who wouldn’t want to be able to eat more of a good thing for less? So a  few years ago, I tried to make her famous onion rings using crushed up Fiber One.  But good grief! Those things sat in my stomach like a rock for days. Blech.

I vowed never again to try her recipes. A good call to make lest I start pretending tofu noodles are pasta.

But this week, in an act of hungry (girl) desperation, I found myself strangely drawn to a recipe for Mac & Cheese. What can I say? I was craving pasta. And with this recipe, I could fix my craving and still have enough Weight Watchers points for wine! (Priorities.)

DD Girl (my WW buddy) was on board with this plan. But we both decided the recipe needed some, um, tweaking. So I came up with adding shiitake mushrooms, garlic and four tablespoons of 2% cheddar cheese.

I already told you I devoured it. But I don’t feel good about it.

Why should dieting resort to processed cheese over frozen cauliflower?

There has to be a better solution out there. Luckily, earlier in the week I found a fantastic  food blog called Skinny Taste. Gina uses real ingredients to create real food that’s real good and really low in WW points. (Really.)

Also, I’m committed not to deprive myself of things I really love. I just don’t think you have to. I work out. I eat in moderation. I should be able to enjoy pasta, sushi and (non-processed)cheese, as long as I make smart decisions about how much and which items I eat.

So, next week for Fire & Wine, I’m vowing to create something that doesn’t embarrass this blog. There are good foods out there. And I’m going to find them. Feel free to offer suggestions.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Fake Food Fire & Wine Night

  1. Jen

    I’m with you on the fake food. Blech!

    Here’s a great thread from eGullet about doing weight watchers while eating real food:
    http://forums.egullet.org/index.php?/topic/48804-weight-watchers/
    Tons of good ideas and recipe suggestions in there.

  2. I got this awesome cookbook:

    http://www.amazon.com/Now-Eat-This-Americas-Favorite/dp/0345520904/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1274470511&sr=8-1

    There are so many good recipes in here! I am partial to Mexican food, so I especially love the enchiladas!

  3. You just described the biggest problem I had with WW. It’s a good idea in theory, but then I’d go to meetings and all they would discuss would be low point junk food. That’s not healthy! I cut out ALL processed foods (with the occasional slip up because I’m human – hello Balsamic Vinegar and Rosemary potato chips!) and I’ve dropped 6 1/2 lbs in a month. Still eating butter, still eating pasta, still eating bacon.

    I’m going to have to check out that other site. I’ve seen Hungry Girl and it’s just more of the prepackaged processed WW Kool-aid crap if you ask me. I’m glad I’m not the only one who thought so.

  4. Pingback: Fire & Wine: On a diet, but not diet food « Queen of Quirky

Leave a Reply

