Dutch Oven

Wedding planning is stressful.

It especially hurts the pocket book. (That’s North Carolinian for wallet. I like to throw out my old North Carolinian lingo sometimes. It makes me feel well-exposed to a variety of United States sub-cultures.)

You can actually hear the tension in the Quirky household as we are trying to figure out why exactly we didn’t elope to Vegas? Or maybe that was just Gertie farting. Whatever. It’s stressful.

But we know that in the end, celebrating our nuptials with our friends and family will ultimately be worth it to us. We are keeping it very tacky cheap. You can follow more about that on the Quirky Wedding blog.

Meanwhile, I’m trying to keep us healthy and satisfied in the food department without spending crazy amounts of money at the grocery store. I felt pretty good about the meals I planned this week. And then I kind of messed it up with a work function that went late on Tuesday, but my intentions were good…

Monday – Chicken Satay with brown rice and snow peas

Tuesday – I planned for Sauteed Tilapia with Lemon-Peppercorn Pan Sauce and a pea risotto.  I didn’t feel like cooking after that work function, so I made a frozen spinach, mushroom and chicken pizza.

Wednesday – We will have this on Friday or Saturday or sometime before the cauliflower turns into a science experiment in the fridge. Cauliflower & Chickpea Curry. No real recipe yet. Going to wing it based on several I have read. Served with brown rice.

After discussing this menu with the fiance the other night. I blurted out, “I really want a dutch oven.” I don’t know where exactly it came from. I have no business thinking of new things for myself at this time.

But, truth be told, I have this really awful cookware that would be really embarrassing should any foodie wander into my kitchen.

We were laying in bed and the fiance got a wicked look in his eyes.

Oh no. Not that* kind of Dutch oven.

* I apologize for stooping to potty humor today. I’m tired, busy and moderately stressed.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Dutch Oven

  1. kat

    First of all, hhhhhhhhhhaaaaaaaaaaaaa! haaaaaaaa!

    Second of all, Dutch Ovens are awesome! Are you talking about the kind that you take camping and make the BEST desserts and soups in?

    LOVE the Dutch OVen cooking at camp, we had some wonderful chinese chicken yumminess this summer. Followed by a chocolate lava cake. Another time we had apple cobbler and peach cobbler. Peach wins!

    • Well I don’t know…I guess you could take it to camp and you could certainly make a variety of items in it. I’m really fantisisizing over a La Creuset red Dutch oven, if you want to get specific.

      But I bet peach cobler would be awesome made in it too!!

  2. Le Creuset in red! I have one on my stove right now. You will LOVE it. I cook all kinds of stuff in mine and clean up is a breeze. (Did that sound too informercial-y?). Anyhoo… you can sometimes find decent deals on them around the holidays.

  3. Melissa

    Weird question. Do you have a “snow effect” on your blog? I see these white spots that blank out an itty-bitty piece of text in a random fashion.

  4. momromp

    Williams-Sonoma is having a good sale on Le Creuset now if you’re really interested. Also, Crate and Barrel sells a line of dutch ovens that are much less expensive than Le Creusets (if you miss the W-S sale); C and B’s line is Mario Batali’s.

    I know this only because I am shopping for some better cookware myself.

    Before we got married, the only skillet I had was very old and the handle was so brittle it broke off. Yikes.

  5. I always thought pocketbook was an Iowa expression; at least when I was growing up there, that’s what everybody called them. Haven’t heard anyone say the word for a long time.
    I hate weddings more than I hate funerals. Cliff and I called a preacher the day we wanted to tie the knot, and an hour or so later we were husband and wife. (No, I wasn’t pregnant.) The preacher asked us, “What kind of ceremony do you want?” and Cliff blurted out, “The shortest one you got.”

  6. Pingback: Worth-the-wait duck ragu « Queen of Quirky

Leave a Reply

