T-minus 1 week to Turkey Day

I’m scurred.

Because  for some reason I had a temporary lapse in sanity and offered to host Thanksgiving.

For my future in-laws.

<— Have you seen my turkeys?

Those are cupcakes* .  I know it’s a little hard to tell exactly what they are. And yes, their tail feathers were put in upside down.

I probably have no business trying to cook the real thing.

Well, to be fair, I had never made cupcakes – any kind of cupcake – before.

Oh crap. I’ve never been in charge of making a turkey before either.

I’m so in over my head.

Is Papa Johns open on Thanksgiving?

*Disclaimer – the turkey cupcake recipe is posted on a Web site owned and operated by my employer. The recipe was provided by a client of my employer. This post is not in any way endorsed or sponsored by my employer. The cupcakes were just too cute not to attempt. Just don’t put the candy corns in upside down and get an icing tube applicator for the eyes so they don’t turn out so cattywompus.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “T-minus 1 week to Turkey Day

  1. Love the cupcakes. Cattywompus eyes and all. I think all the kids would love making these over the T-break. Where can I get the recipe?

    Oh, I’ve been making the same turkey since the beginning of time. It’s from the Silver Palate cookbook. Works like a charm. Another hint for a first-timer is to use a turkey bag. Keeps it nice and moist and you don’t have to do a darn thing.

    Good luck!

  2. momromp

    You’ll be fine. Buy a turkey – about 1.5 lb per person is a good guide for how big a bird you’ll need. If you buy frozen, just make sure to thaw it in the refrigerator early…12 pound bird needs about 3-4 full days in the refrigerator (and you may want to add one day on to that just to be safe). Find a basic turkey recipe. Recruit a friend/boyfriend/fiancee (congrats, by the way) to help with getting all the stuff out of the turkey (which only takes a few seconds with help…I find this part to be the only really intimidating part). Roast the turkey. Get relatives to bring sides or buy sides. I have a very critical mom-in-law and hosted our first year married and it went just fine.

    Here’s one I like (and I don’t even bother with the veggies in the bottom of the pan): http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/classic-roast-turkey-10000001687176/

    Final turkey tips –
    1) Buy a roasting pan with a rack if you don’t have one. You can find a basic, no fuss one at any big box store for under $40, easily.

    2) The best way I’ve found to take a turkey out of the pan is to use two big mitten pot holders (though plain old square ones work in a pinch). Make sure they’re thick pot holders so you don’t burn your hands and just lift that bird up with your covered hands. Quick, cheap, easy – no special equipment needed.

    3) You’re doing everyone a favor by hosting, so relax and realize that it’s just one meal on one day and it will be fine.

  3. is that delicious?
    I hope so. .

  4. themarriageclub

    Is that chocolate for this turkey cupcake?

  5. The really good thing about Turkey
    Is it rhymes with your name, Quirky

    Skip the Julia Child advice
    Tail bits backwards add some spice!

    As for cooking, do not pout
    Buy a bird where part pops out

    When the turkey cooking’s done
    Perfect feast, for everyone.

    So, dear girl, the pop-up timer –
    From your friendly blogging rhymer:

    http://recipes.howstuffworks.com/tools-and-techniques/pop-up-timer.htm

  6. Those are super cute! Fun idea.

  7. Pretty Project

    I love those cupcakes and you can tell EXACTLY what they are. You humble gal, you! 🙂

    http://www.theprettyproject.com

  8. janer

    Those turkeys are too cute! I noticed nothing wrong with the eyes — big eyes are cuter than small eyes anyway.

    And, um, er, how do you know the tail feathers are upside-down?

    Jane, who apparently has never closely observed turkey tail feathers.

    • Well, I knew they were upside down by looking at the correct picture on culinary.net. I guess it’s a matter of perspective. 🙂

      And no, I certainly haven’t been that up close & personal with any turkeys. I hear they are mean! Gobble gobble!

  9. jen

    It’s going to turn out great! Your future in-laws are probably the nicest people in the entire world. If you haven’t already, solicit FMIL’s advice/assistance with the turkey if you think it’ll make you less nervous. When in doubt, keep it simple, and really good gravy covers any blunders nicely.

    BTW – your blog is great.

  10. Pingback: The pear crisp is fine, but if I buy a glue gun, we might have a problem « Queen of Quirky

  11. Pingback: Rahrr! « Queen of Quirky

Leave a Reply

