Attending The Pioneer Woman’s book signing with my future-mother-in-law along with “My Friend Jenny” and “DD Girl” in spirit

I’ve never been much of a groupie.

Until last night. Yeah, I’m a Pioneer Woman groupie, and I’m okay with that. How do you know you are a groupie?

When you drag your future-mother-in-law and four copies of someone’s cookbook to a book signing and then wait for hours for two (wonderful) minutes with said blogger.

I mean, it’s not like I haven’t seen her, or even met her before. I don’t understand why on earth I can be so star struck by another blogger. I get it. She’s just a real person like you and me.

But then, she gets up in front of a HUGE crowd of Kansas Citians and charms us with her wit, her spontaneity and her outlook on life.

Of course, if that isn’t enough, she brings her handsome hubby and two of her “punks” to send us all overboard in our love fest of this amazing blogger.

I had to crack up when about 30 minutes before Ree went on stage, The Marlboro Man showed up to drop off some goodies that were handed out during the signing. The crowd went NUTS. Poor guy, practically knocked him off his boots, I would imagine.

This family probably never envisioned the fame and opportunities that have come as a result of Ree’s little ole blog.

But that just goes to show you, that this blogging thing we do can be a very powerful thing.

So last night, as I hauled three copies (my future-mother-in-law stayed seated with her copy) of the cookbook up to the stage to have them signed, I felt pretty privileged to be a part of this blogging community. Yet, once again.

I’m so excited to give DD Girl her birthday present tonight (don’t worry, she hardly ever reads my blog) which is of course, a copy of  The Pioneer Woman Cooks  autographed to Christi, AKA DD Girl.

And my friend Jenny will be recieving her copy of the book shipped straight to North Carolina, autographed along with a very special addition and one of the “goodies” I mentioned from the bag that MM brought in. I’m sure she’ll be writing about the cookbook in her blog, Charm Chicks.

And a little bit of news for you: Black Heels will be published into a book with additional chapters.

Speaking of love stories, I still have to finish mine. Look for Part IV this week!

 

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Attending The Pioneer Woman’s book signing with my future-mother-in-law along with “My Friend Jenny” and “DD Girl” in spirit

  1. You weren’t the only one of my friends who was cuckoo about The Pioneer Woman’s visit: http://nerdyapplebottom.blogspot.com/2009/11/stalking.html

    Maybe I should start reading her blog since she seems to inspire near-mania in her readers.

  2. How funny! I was just reading you the other day, linked through Average Jane. Love your work.

  3. Thanks for introducing me to Pioneer Woman! I’m so jealous you got to meet her in person. 🙂

  4. Leslie W

    I’m a HUGE fan of TPW and what a pleasant surprise when I saw you listed at the bottom of her blog! All I want for Christmas is one of her cookbooks!!!

  5. Just found you from PW’s site! Its so true about the power of this blogging community! I have met some seriously awesome people 🙂

  6. I was there too! She was just like I pictured her..

    Great blog!

  7. thelumberjackswife

    I am bummed that she is not coming to our area! Thanks for sharing your story!

  8. katie o.

    so jealous that she did a little discussion with you guys. that part ended up being nixed in Atlanta. But yes, it was a blast…and she’s incredibly lovely.

Leave a Reply

