F &W: Goat Cheese & Spinach Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

IMG_1033Sometimes a mistake turns out to be a really, really good thing.

In this case: goat cheese.

When I was considering what to fix for Fire & Wine night (because. ahem. I still haven’t had any suggestions from you people yet.) I was trying to stay on the lighter side of things.

After all, some of us have Halloween costumes to squeeze into in a few weeks.

So, I found this recipe for Spinach & Ricotta pizza on Cooking Light’ssite. Later that night, I sent a text to DD Girl and Roomie, but I SWEAR I thought the recipe was for Spinach & Goat Cheese pizza. So that’s what I wrote in my text, only to realize my mistake the next day.

It was too late.

Once you put goat cheese out there, you can’t take it back.

You have to deliver the goods.

So after reading the recipe, I decided goat cheese might add more fat and calories, but it would make it very tasty. Besides, I had more pressing issues at hand….

A bit of a  rising problem.

Pizza crust.

Remember the whole baking ban?

It seems I have unleashed a wild side because now we are two for two on doughy baked creations.

I began perusing the Web for pizza crust recipes.

Easy. No fail recipes.

With the help of my twitter friends I decided that pizza crust could in fact be made without the help of a mixer. No heavy machinery, folks.

So I took a recipe for quick and easy pizza crust and switched out half of the all purpose flour for whole wheat flour ala Two Peas and their Pod’s Whole Wheat Veggie Pizza. I also used the quick yeast.

In case you are confused with all this mixing and meshing, the recipe was:

1 packet of quick rising yeast

1 teaspoon sugar

1 cup warm water

1 1/4 cups all purpose flour

1 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour

2 tablespoons of olive oil

1 teaspoon salt

I added the yeast to the warm water with the sugar and let it sit for 10 minutes. Then I added the rest of the ingredients and stirred really hard until it made dough. I mixed it a little more to make sure it was all smooth. Then, I let it sit for 10 minutes.

I pulled the dough out of the bowl and added a little flour to it and on the parchment paper. I rolled it out into a sort-of -round -and -even 12-inch pie. I slapped it on my cheap Wal-Mart pizza pan and fixed a few holes, trying to make it as even as possible. (DD Girl held the pan steady. Gotta give credit where it’s due.)

IMG_1023Then I brushed it with olive oil and smothered it with  1/4 cup (maybe a tad bit more than that) of this New York-Style Pizza Sauce (which I only changed to add a teaspoon more sugar after I tasted it and thought it needed it. Perfection.)

I sprinkled fresh spinach on top of the sauce, topped the spinach with some light mozzarella cheese and parm.

Now it was time for the good stuff.

I sliced little slivers of the goat cheese and strategically placed them on the pizza. (there are no pictures of this step  because we were very busy making it perfect and um. eating little bits of the cheese in the process.)

Then, I topped it with some fresh sliced tomatoes and a little more parm.

I baked the entire thing (actually, I should confess that there were two pizzas going on at once. I mean, who are we kidding? Four of us sharing one 12-inch pizza with goat cheese? No way. Reality check, folks.) at 400 degrees for about 15-20 minutes.

It’s hard to say exactly how long because I reset the timer for “two more minutes” a few times. I kept whimpering that the crust might be too doughy until DD Girl threw an intervention on me and said, it’s going to be fine. Take them out now.

IMG_1034She was right.

See, here is DD Girl and the fiance chowing down on the pizza with Gertie hoping to catch a few nibbles.

You can’t see Roomie, but she was there too.

I served the pizza with tomato and mozzarella salad with that fresh basil I had for the pizza sauce. You know the drill – drizzle with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar with fresh cracked salt and pepper.

So easy.IMG_1029

Not at all like pizza crust.

Which takes measuring and waiting and all the things I’m so bad at.

But hey, that’s the point of Fire & Wine night. Try something new.

Push my limits.

And hold my breath and hope it turns out.

With a little encouragement from my friends.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “F &W: Goat Cheese & Spinach Pizza on Whole Wheat Crust

  1. That pizza certainly looks delicious, and glad you didn’t let machinery, or lack of, stop you.

  2. Glad it worked out. It looks very tasty!

  3. Love it! I’m always looking for new ways to fix pizza, and looks as if you stumbled onto a great recipe :).

  4. As usual, I am inspired by your F&W menus. I’ve been craving pizza all week. This is definitely a sign!

    By the way, thanks for the congrats on my humble blog. I got all giggly and excited to see that you had left a comment. I am feeling very special and cool right now. 🙂

  5. My friend Jenny

    hey, that recipe is making me hungry! I’m going to try it soon.

    also, I am bad about pairing wines with foods. how about you telling us about which wines to serve with your recipes? I want to be wino-correcto, you know…

    also, I want a good comfort-food-winter-type-casserole recipe. If I want real food at 6:30 p.m., I have to partially prepare it the night/day before (kids, dogs, work, etc). I’ve found casseroles are usually well-received at my house.

    Give us a casserole, please!

Leave a Reply

