23 again

Forget that last post. I’m going with 23. At least that’s what my future sister-in-law thought. For seriousness. She thought I was turning 23.

I LOVE IT! And of course, I had a hay day out in Westport after our fabulous birthday bash dining experience at LaBodega telling people it was my 23rd birthday.

(And they believed me.) Of course, most of them were out drinking, but STILL…

Ah to be 23 again. The fiance said he’d rather me not be 23 again, even though I tried to tell him my butt was so much hotter back then.

Isn’t he sweet?

Ok, speaking of my butt. I ate like a queen this weekend. Want to hear about it?

Saturday I helped host my sister-in-law’s baby shower brunch. Did someone say eggs and mimosas? Two of my favorites. Of course, we needed to find something of the non-alcoholic variety. So I turned to some of my bloggy friends for help.

Lucky for me, Omnomicon had just written about such a drink. This could not have been any easier, but let me tell you – yum!

Nothing says brunch like a Bed & Breakfast. So I turned to my friend at Inn Cusine for some inspirations. I was on the fence between this egg casserole and thisstrata. Mmmmm, smoked gouda. So I decided to do a little bit of both. Also, since I was cooking for a larger group, I had to make some modifications. Here’s what I bought:

18 eggs

2 bunches of asparagus

8 ounces of smoked gouda

8 ounces of mushrooms

1 big shalot

2 cloves of garlic

dill and parsley (in a jar, but fresh would have been better)

Pinot Grigio

Up and at ’em on Saturday morning, I did the following:

Chopped up the asparagus and steamed it for 3 minutes. Set it aside. Diced garlic and shalots. Added to a pan with olive oil. Then added the diced mushrooms and then the steamed asparagus. sauted. Salt, pepper, dill and parsley.

Cracked all the eggs in a big bowl and whisked. Added two splashes of the wine and some salt and pepper and dill. Grated all of my cheese and added it to the eggs. Added the hot veggies. Mixed.

Poured into a Pyrex and baked for 45 minutes at 350.

I liked it and word is, so did everyone else. It served at least 20 ladies small pieces.

Speaking of serving, we served up some great tapas at LaBodega. Good friends in tow, the fiance and I ordered  chicken and chorizo skewers, ham wrapped artichoke hearts, pan cooked fresh calamari and meatballs (for the boy.) Plus I got to try goat cheese and tomatoes on crusty bread, mushrooms and a spanish omelet. Oh my.

As if that wasn’t enough food for one weekend, Mom was in town and took us to North where I pigged out on some tomato soup and the strozzapreti with parmesan cream, pine nuts, spinach, mushrooms and shrimp.

That meal sent me into a birthday nap. And then we went to go see the Informant where I dined on a HUGE bowl of popcorn.

Whew. I’m birthday fooded out.

But not for long because DD Girl got me a new cookbook. I have my eye on the turkey meatballs and linguine….

That will have to be after my whirlwind week of travel this week. Stay tuned for live from Philly, followed by Blogher Food next weekend!!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “23 again

  1. I absolutely adore La Bodega. Thinking of celebrating my b-day there, too!

Leave a Reply

