Turns out

IMG_0937I don’t like fennel. Ew. But otherwise, the Giada recipe was quite tasty. I made some minor modifications including roasting the veggies at 400 degrees for 20 minutes and adding fresh garlic to the layers of veggies.

For the marinara sauce, I think using our local Cupinis sauce was almost as good as making my own. (And a time saver!)

I also didn’t have an orange pepper, so I just added a few more pieces of roasted eggplant. I do love eggplant. I have to say that adding olive oil to the bread crumbs on top really worked wonders on creating a nice, crisp, golden crust. Yum…. If you do make this, be sure to wait a while after you take it out of the oven. It needs to cool before it is cut.

Served with: Caesar salad (cheated and used Ken’s Ceasar dressing.) and fresh Italian bread with olive oil for dipping.

DD Girl and Roomie were sent home with leftovers and claimed to love it. I just kind of liked it, but that’s just me and the fennel issue.

The best thing about Fire & Wine night is trying new recipes. We’ll pretty much try anything. Have a recipe you’d like us to try? (Remember, no red meat please.) Let me know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

