Seeking: comments

I’d like to see more comments on my blog. And I’m not afraid to say that. A very smart business woman once told me, “If you want something. Ask for it.” So I’m asking.

But I understand that not everyone has something to say on every subject. Which is why I like to give you options:

  • Subject #1 FOOD

Last night I made the not-so- famous dumplings for Roomie, the fiance and DD Girl.  I decided I needed to play with a new dipping sauce so I mixed up soy sauce, rice vinegar, hoisin sauce, siracha sauce and some diced onions. I’m not going to lie. I was kind of in love with it.

Last night was also a foodie heaven night because my Pampered Chef party shipment came in. I was excited to play with my new Food Chopper. As much as I hesitated to buy it for the “gadget” factor, it’s kind of great. The only thing is, you still have to cut things into managable chopping size. So it probably really doesn’t save you a whole lot of time. But what I love is it gets things nice and small. Which is perfect for dumplings.

I’m also looking forward to trying this new cookbook I bought.  Everything in it looks very tasty with a minimum number of ingredients. Perfect for my budget!

  • Subject #2 RUNNING

I still run, you know. For a while I was doing some longer distances (tackled 8 miles), but the heat is really messing with my motivation lately. I have no idea how I ever trained for a marathon during the summer.  I’d really like to do another one, but the thought of doing long runs drains me. It’s nice to go home, throw my running clothes on, grab the dog and knock out two miles.

  • Subject #3 BLOGGY FRIENDS

I’m counting down the days until Blogher. But I’m finding it hard to explain to my friends who don’t blog or care about blogs why on earth I’d be so excited to spend a weekend in Chicago, sharing a room with another blogger I have never met, learning more about, well…blogging.

Meanwhile, I’m reading some great stuff out there in the blogosphere. Unfortunately, one of my favorite writers won’t be at the conference this year. But you should read thisfunnyobservation of what happens to your parents when you have a kiddo.

  • Subject #4 (speaking of kiddos) FAT BABIES

Love them! I mean who doesn’t love a fat baby? So last Saturday the fiance and I were hanging out at his parents’ house. His cousins brought their 15 month son over. And let me tell you – he’s a big boy, a rolly polly, smiley, happy big boy! And it’s odd because his parents and his four-year-old sister are all petite.

Fiance’s Mom gave the baby a plastic bowl and a wooden spoon to play with, thinking he would use the spoon to bang on the bowl. But no. This was a fat baby. He had other things in mind. He turned that bowl over and started stirring the air with his spoon. A-dorable! I foresee a Top Chef in our family’s future!

  • Subject #5 FOURTH OF JULY

Wow, last year I had all these plans and then I ended up crashing my car . What a weekend. (Talk about trama for Gertie who was in the car when we wrecked and was so scared that she pooped a little on the seat. Then, later that night she had to endure fire works. Poor girl!)

Things are a little more calm this year (I hope?) but one thing I didn’t write about from last year was on July 3, the then boyfriend and I said three little words that we will be saying to one another for the rest of our lives. God bless America! (Oh wait, those weren’t the words. 🙂 )

12 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

12 responses to “Seeking: comments

  1. Thanks for the shout out!!

    I feel the same way about comments. I don’t get hardly in comparison to how many hits my blog gets. Bring that up at Blogher and let me know what they say!! Be my ambassador!! 🙂

  2. Ask and you shall receive….

    I have a couple of comments for you, lol.

    Do you make the dumplings from scratch? If so, recipe please 🙂

    I understand about it being hard for others to understand your excitement about BlogHer. I am having the same problem around here. I am so looking forward to learning more about blogging – well and meeting you since I’m the unknown blogger rooming with you 🙂

  3. Hi Heathen Mom – I do make the filling from scratch but I use the potsticker wrappers I buy from an Asian market. The filling is (I’m bad at measurements, so pardon me)
    1. About 1/3 of a nappa cabbage finely chopped
    2. About 5 shitake mushrooms finely chopped
    3. About six green onions finely chopped
    4. About a pound of ground chicken breasts (I have the butcher do this for me)
    5. About 3/4 of a small can of water chestnuts finely chopped
    6. Fresh grated ginger to taste
    7. Two cloves of diced garlic
    8. Probably about 1/4 cup of soy sauce (maybe less?)
    9. Splash of fish sauce
    10. Splash of Hoisin sauce
    11. Splash of rice vinager
    12. A dash of Chinese Five Spice Powder

    Then I just mush it all up really well. I fill the little wrappers (takes FOR-EVER, but the fiance bought me a dumpling press which is AWESOME!) Then I use peanut oil and pan fry them on each side. I finish them by putting about 1/3 cup of water in the pan and covering it with the lid to steam for about 3-4 minutes.

    Yum!

  4. That dumpling recipe sounds awesome!

    Let me know if you want to get together for a pre-BlogHer squee-o-rama. I know exactly why you’re excited about going! 🙂

  5. I love fat babies. My niece is one of them. Well we prefer not to use the term “fat”. Dont get my SIL started on that one. She’s just got an apple bottom. Love her to death.

  6. My friend Jenny

    You know with a 9 year-old, July 4th is a big deal! Fire! Fire!

    Ken and Thomas just called me from the TNT stand that sets up shop in front of Lowe’s (what smart marketing) the week before July 4th. Let’s just say, I hope they don’t get in a car wreck on the way home. They have enough firepower in the car to blow up half of Rocky Mount.

    I feel sure we’ll be putting some off tonight and Friday night, as well as the 4th, because THE BOYS JUST CAN’T WAIT!

    I hope they’re buying the legal kind.

    Love you and Happy Fourth

    • Too funny. I can see both of them out there with their load of explosives. Good luck, and oh, you may need a glass of wine or two to avoid freaking out watching your two boys attempt to blow up stuff. I know I would. 🙂

      Love you too!

  7. Jen

    On the topic of FOOD, I’ve got a cookbook and a blog recommendation.

    For the kind of simple, no fuss recipes you like, try any of the the first three Naked Chef cookbooks (Jamie Oliver). I have more recipes in my regular repertoire from him than any other cookbook in my collection, from an amazing tomato soup, to several great pasta dishes, to the world’s easiest roast chicken.

    Try this recipe: http://www.thewednesdaychef.com/the_wednesday_chef/2009/01/melissa-clarks-roasted-broccoli-with-shrimp.html
    Her blog, in general, has a breezy tone and solid recipes. This one is everything you want in a recipe – a handful of ingredients, 25 minutes start to finish, 1 pan + 1 bowl, and hugely delicious. (Obviously not for the fiance though, with the shrimp.)

  8. Oh I love the naked chef. And thank you for the blog link to the Wednesday Chef. I’m going to check it out!

  9. all ya had to do was ask!

    those dumplings sound yummy!

Leave a Reply

