Quirky gets handy

I fixed it!

Can you believe it?

I. fixed. the. broken. garbage. disposal.

(I think they make a someecard for that.)

Truth be told, the reality of the situation is not nearly as impressive as me telling you I fixed my broken garbage disposal.

Because we all know I have mad skillz when it comes to these sorts of things. (snort!)

Ok, enough with the horse and pony show.

The garbage disposal wasn’t working. (You gathered that.) One flicked the light switch and nothing happened.

First, I did what I usually do when something breaks. I called the landlord.

But after 24 hours of no fix, I was starting to get frustrated. And the sink was starting to stink.

So I started thinking about the fact that usually when a garbage disposal breaks, it makes heinous noises only akin to some sort of farm animal giving birth (I’ve actually never heard the latter, but I can imagine?) And in this case, it didn’t make any noise. It didn’t do anything. It was almost as if….

it wasn’t on?

So I opened up the cabinet under the sink and looked for a button. I didn’t really know what I was looking for, but I figured some sort of lever or push device would do the trick.

There was a button at the very bottom of it. I figured pushing was going to do one of two things — maul my hands with some sort of extract-o blade apparatus or turn the thing on.

I took a risk. What the heck.

Then, I stood up, ran the water and flicked the switch.

Gurrrrrgggggggggllllllllcrunchcrunchgrrrrrrrrr

I was practically jumping up and down.

I’ve never fixed anything before.

The only person in the universe who was truly impressed was Roomie. Which is probably part of why I like her so much.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Quirky gets handy

  1. Justin

    Hooray for fixing that! It is always satisfying when we can remedy these situations.

    You know, when you next find yourself in a situation like this, do not forget that a certain friend has nearly eight years of True Value Hardware expertise…wisdom he is happy to share with select friends. And you, queenofquirky, are a select friend.

  2. Awww, thanks, Justin. I will remember your expertise in the future!

  3. aande

    So impressive!

  4. Congratulations! I usually have to take the household repairs into my own hands. I just get tired of wait for hubby to do it. Speaking of maybe I’ll take on the rocking toilet this weekend.

Leave a Reply

