The event in which I meet and like the boyfriend’s ex-girlfriend

People. If you don’t know this by now, you really aren’t loyal readers.

I am still relatively new to this whole dating thing.

And when I was married, I never met any of the ex-girlfriends. It just didn’t come up. So therefore, I have no practice in the laws of meeting-the-ex etiquette.

But due to the fact that the boyfriend and  his ex are friendly and they share a common group of friends, it was inevitable that some day, we were going to run into her. I was fine with that.

But I wasn’t expecting to hit it off the way we did.

And I wasn’t expecting to be facebook friends with her (yup, we are now!) But I shouldn’t be surprised, really. Our common friends are now in double digits and the thing kept suggesting that I know her and should friend her. Well I certainly wasn’t going to do THAT without meeting her. (Hi, I’ve never met you, but we have XX mutual friends and I know you dated the boyfriend, so let’s be friends.)

But actually, the real life introduction was far less awkward. Despite the fact that I was dressed as a frumpy grandma wanna-be –The cute, cropped crocheted sweater and flowy pink shirt just didn’t have that “wow” factor — and she was looking all hot in a leopard print wrap dress and killer peep-toe shoes. Not to mention she is tall, beautiful with long blond hair… Aren’t I supposed to hate girls like that?

No, the meeting actually went more like:

“Hi, I’m so and so and you must be Stephanie.”

(Me, wiping the veggie burger juices off my face.) “Oh, hi. Nice to meet you.”

We later chatted about our hobbies, interests, food and life in general. And I met her now boyfriend, who seemed like a nice guy.

So now we are buddies. And life is one big happy world.

Oh, and I told her I’d be blogging about this, so she knows. And well, the boyfriend has just learned to accept that this whole bog is like an open book into my life. He’s cool with that…

The party itself (a mutual friend’s birthday) was great fun. Minus the creepy guy who tried to hit on me, then tried to hit on a friend of mine who wasn’t at the party, but was at the bar.

I should also add that the party was fine and dandy until the next day. The boyfriend suggested that next time I not go drink to drink with him when he’s drinking beer and I’m drinking vodka presses. As impressive as it may have been that I could indeed, hold my own, it did not lead to a very pleasant Sunday.

In other news, I put on this lotion today that has a strong perfume scent to it and it stinks. And now I stink. And I kind of keep making myself want to vomit due to my own scent.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

